Call2Recycle names executive director in Canada

Call2Recycle®, North America's only free battery and cell phone collection program, heightened commitment to diverting batteries from Canada’s landfills with the appointment of a new Canadian executive director and a reconstituted board of directors, as well as the opening of a new office in Toronto.

Earlier this year, Call2Recycle also began collecting all household batteries, including alkaline, at thousands of collection sites throughout British Columbia and Ontario.

Joe Zenobio was appointed executive director for Call2Recycle Canada, charged with driving the strategic direction for the organization’s expanding Canadian presence and serving as the liaison between battery manufacturers, government agencies and Call2Recycle’s program participants. Zenobio most recently served in various leadership roles in Canada and the United States including president, chief operating officer and senior vice president, products and solutions for GS1, an e-commerce and value chain organization.

To further support the evolving landscape, RBRCC, the non-profit that operates Call2Recycle Canada, has appointed a new board of directors to oversee its Canadian operations. The new board includes representatives from all facets of the battery manufacturing industry. Additional positions will be filled in the future to reflect the organization’s growth.

The new RBRCC board members include Nick Aubry, manager, national parts operations and environment service, Sony Canada; Kent Hatton, brand group director, Energizer Canada, Inc.; Alan Moyer, director, Panasonic Canada; Susan E. Nieuwhof, director, external relations, Proctor & Gamble Canada; Gary Van Heerwaarden, director – team lead, Rayovac; and Carl Smith, president and CEO of Call2Recycle.