Nominations sought for annual Environmental Quality Awards

Each year, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) honors individuals, businesses and organizations that have contributed significantly to improving the environment and protecting public health in New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and eight federally recognized Indian Nations over the past year. EPA is now seeking nominations for this annual award. Winners will be honored at an awards event in April 2012. Each winner will receive a plaque recognizing his or her environmental achievement at a ceremony during Earth Week. The agency is accepting nominations for its Environmental Quality Awards until February 21, 2012.

The awards recognize achievement in six categories:

  • Business and Industry
  • Individual Citizen
  • Non-Profit Organization, Environmental or Community Group
  • Environmental Education
  • Federal, State, Local or Tribal Government or Agency
  • Press and Media

For award criteria, prior winners and nomination instructions, visit EPA’s Environmental Quality Award page at www.epa.gov/region2/eqa.