JUNE 2011

AIST chooses new board and officers

R. Joseph Stratman, executive vice president, Nucor Corp., Charlotte, North Carolina, has been appointed president of the Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST) for 2011–2012. He succeeds past president William P. Breedlove.

AIST announces its new executive committee and board of directors during AISTech 2011, the organization’s annual conference and exposition.

Also appointed as officers were:

  • First vice president – Kent D. Peaslee, F. Kenneth Iverson, steelmaking chair, Missouri University of Science & Technology, Rolla, Missouri.
  • Second vice president – Terry G. Fedor II, vice president – metallics, Cliffs Natural Resources, Cleveland, Ohio.
  • Past president: William P. Breedlove, executive vice president, marketing and business development, Harsco Metals and Minerals, Seven Fields, Pennsylvania.
  • Officer-at-large – Glenn A. Pushis, vice president and general manager, Steel Dynamics Inc. – Flat Roll Division, Butler, Indiana.
  • Officer-at-large: Michael D. Garcia, senior vice president, manufacturing and supply chain, Evraz Inc. NA, Portland, Oregon.
  • Officer-at-large – George J. Koenig, president, Berry Metal Co., Harmony, Pennsylvania.
  • Treasurer – William C. King, II, assistant corporate controller, United States Steel Corporation, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.