American Recycler News, Inc.


Waste industry professionals honored

More than two dozen men and women in the solid waste industry were honored for their service to the field at a special awards ceremony sponsored by the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA) – the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC).

“We are honored to recognize these remarkable individuals,” said Bruce Parker, president and CEO of EIA and NSWMA. “These committed professionals have demonstrated outstanding achievements in advancing the reputation of our industry as environmentally and technologically innovative, safety conscious and service oriented.”

EIA Driver of the Year

  • Jesus Pena, Republic Services, Inc. (North Las Vegas, Nevada) – Large Commercial Category
  • Brett Popke, Allied Waste of Sandusky (Sandusky, Ohio) – Large Industrial Category
  • Mike Buczkowski, Republic Services, Inc. (Sylvania, Ohio) – Large Residential Category
  • Saul Lopez, Salt Lake County Sanitation (Utah) – Public Sector Category
  • Jamie Montague, Rogue Disposal and Recycling, Inc. (Central Point, Oregon) – Small Commercial Category
  • Ralph Smith, Forest Green Waste Services (Cincinnati, Oregon) – Small Residential Category
  • Tony Milner, Rogue Disposal and Recycling, Inc. (Central Point, Oregon.) – Small Industrial Category

EIA Hall of Fame

  • Lee Brandsma, Groot Industries (Elk Grove Village, Illinois)
  • Susan Eppes, EST Solutions, Inc. (Houston, Texas)
  • George Fennell, Carolina Waste & Recycling LLC (North Charleston, South Carolina)
  • Dwight Schaubach, Bay Disposal & Recycling, Inc. (Norfolk, Virginia)
  • Stephen Smith, Clean Energy Renewable Fuels (Seal Beach, California)
  • Bruce Parker, Environmental Industry Associations (Washington, D.C.)

EIA Special Trustee Award

  • Jim O’Connor, CEO, Republic Services, Inc. (Phoenix, Arizona)

NSWMA Distinguished Service Award

  • Ken Binnix, Days Cove Reclamation Co. (Annapolis, Maryland)
  • Robert Eisenbud, Waste Management, Inc. (posthumously, Washington, D.C.)
  • B.J. Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons, Inc. (Westborough, Massachusetts)

NSWMA Member of the Year Award

  • Tom Brown, IESI Corporation, a Progressive Waste Solutions Company (Fort Worth, Texas)

NSWMA Special Governor’s Award

  • Kenneth Burkett, American Waste Control, Inc. (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
  • Jeff Crate, Draper Aden Associates (Blacksburg, Virginia)
  • Robert Lee, Eco-Tech Environmental, LLC (Louisville, Kentucky)
  • Andy Moss, Progressive Waste Solutions (Lyndhurst, New Jersey).
  • Fred Radandt, Manitowoc Disposal and Recycling (Manitowoc, Wisconsin)
  • George Wayne, Waste Connections, Inc. (El Paso, Texas)

WASTEC Distinguished Service Award

  • Sean O’Brian, O’Brian Tarping Systems (Wilson, North Carolina)
  • Craig Williams, Labrie Environmental Group (Madison, Wisconsin)

WASTEC Employee of the Year

  • For Production: Mike Goodman, The Curotto Can (Sonoma, California)
  • For Sales and Marketing: L.T. Beale, Otto Environmental Systems North America, Inc. (Charlotte, North Carolina)
  • For Engineering: James Robbins, Marathon Equipment Co. (Vernon, Alabama)

WASTEC Member of the Year Award

  • George Fink, Volvo Construction Equipment (Asheville, North Carolina)