Textile Recyclers Elect New Officers and Board Members

Bethesda, MD - The textile recycling industry elected new officers and board members for the Secondary Materials and Recycled Textiles Association (SMART) during the 2002 Annual Meeting and Convention.

Jerry Usatch, president of Dumont Export Corporation of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania was unanimously elected president of SMART. Mr. Usatch has been in the textile recycling industry for more than 42 years.

Others elected to office included: Larry Groipen, of ERC Wiping Products Inc., Lynn, Massachusetts was elected vice president and Ed Freeman of Bro-Tex, Inc., St. Paul, Minnesota, was elected as treasurer.

The Board of Directors will include: Art Abell, Abel/DPC, Darby Pennsylvania; David Blum, Y-Pers, Inc., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Mitch Bollag, Bollag International Corp., Newell, North Carolina; Lucas Galvin, Los Amigos Distribution Center, Laredo, Texas; Carren Kay, The Carnegie Company, Cleveland, Ohio; Norman Manning, Legget & Platt, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee; Asaf Nasser, Ontex Clothing, Inc., Scarborough, Ontario; Bill Schapiro, Whitehouse & Schapiro LLC, Owings Mills, Maryland; Robert Travis, E. Butterworth & Co. Inc., Dracut, Massachusetts; Eric Warshaw, Erexcorp, Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, and Robert Woycke, Continental Textile Co. of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.