JULY 2010

James L. Wainscott, awarded 2010 Gary Memorial Medal

The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) announced that James L. Wainscott is the 2010 recipient of the Gary Memorial Medal, the Institute’s highest honor. Wainscott, AK Steel Corporation chairman, president and CEO, was recognized with the award at the AISI 118th General Meeting.

In presenting the award, 2010-11 AISI chairman Daniel R. DiMicco, chairman, president and CEO of Nucor Corporation., praised Wainscott for providing the commitment and leadership that was so significant during a period of economic crisis brought on by the global recession.

Established in 1927, the Gary Medal is named for Judge Elbert H. Gary, the first president of AISI. The medal recognizes an individual for his or her remarkable lifelong contributions to the North American steel industry.

Wainscott has served the steel industry for nearly 30 years, beginning his steel career with the former National Steel Corporation where he held a number of executive level positions. In 1995, Wainscott joined AK Steel as vice president and treasurer and was named chief financial officer in 1998. In 2003, he was named president, CEO and a member of the board of directors of AK Steel. In January of 2006, he was named chairman of the board of directors. Wainscott is also a member of the board of directors of the Parker Hannifin Corporation.

Under Wainscott’s leadership, AK Steel has achieved a dramatic turnaround to become a financially solid and globally-competitive steelmaker.

Wainscott recently served as AISI’s 2009-2010 chairman, and previously served as the chairman of the Institute’s policy and planning committee and as chairman of its finance committee.

In addition to his service to AISI, he is a member of the Business Roundtable (and is a past board member of the Specialty Steel Industry of North America). He is vice chairman of the board of directors of the Good Samaritan Hospital Foundation (Cincinnati), a member of the campaign board of Ohio Cancer Research Associates, and a member of the Executive Advisory Board of Ball State University’s Miller College of Business.