American Recycler News, Inc.


Peaslee appointed AIST president

Kent D. Peaslee, F. Kenneth Iverson Chair of Steelmaking Technology, Curators’ Teaching Professor of Metallurgical Engineering and the associate department chair – undergraduate studies, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Missouri, has been appointed president of the Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST) for 2012–2013.

AIST announced its new executive committee and board of directors during AISTech 2012, the organization’s annual conference and exposition.

Also appointed as officers were:

  • First vice president: Terry G. Fedor II, vice president – U.S. iron ore operations, Cliffs Natural Resources, Ohio.
  • Second vice president: Glenn A. Pushis, vice president and general manager, Steel Dynamics Inc., Butler, Indiana.
  • Past president: R. Joseph Stratman, executive vice president, Nucor Corporation, North Carolina.
  • Officer-at-large: Michael D. Garcia, chief executive officer, Evraz Highveld Steel and Vanadium, South Africa.
  • Officer-at-large: George J. Koenig, president, Berry Metal Co., Pennsylvania.

Officer-at-large: Anton Lukac, vice president, U.S. Flat Rolled Operations, United States Steel Corporation, Pennsylvania.

Treasurer: William C. King II, assistant corporate controller, United States Steel Corporation, Pennsylvania.

Secretary: Ronald E. Ashburn, executive director, AIST, Pennsylvania.