American Recycler News, Inc.


Industry professionals honored

America’s waste and recycling industry honored men and women for their service at a national awards ceremony in New Orleans, sponsored by the Environmental Industry Associations (EIA).

Biographical information and photographs are available for all of the award recipients by request from EIA. For more information, contact Thom Metzger at

EIA is the trade association representing the waste and recycling services and equipment industry throughout the U.S. through its two sub-associations, the National Solid Wastes Management Association (NSWMA) and the Waste Equipment Technology Association (WASTEC).

The breakfast ceremony was held during the 45th Annual Waste Expo Conference and Exhibition, North America’s largest solid waste and recycling tradeshow. Those honored at the May 21 event included:

EIA Driver of the Year

  • Large Commercial: Ruben Alcantara, Waste Management, Inc. (Baldwin Park, California)
  • Large Industrial: Daniel Parker, Republic Services, Inc. (Birmingham, Alabama)
  • Large Residential: Terrance Johnson, Republic Services, Inc. (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)
  • Medium Company: Mike George, Central Jersey Waste & Recycling, Inc. (Ewing, New Jersey)
  • Public Sector: Paul Jones, City of Stillwater (Oklahoma)
  • Regional Commercial: Tim Taber, Rumpke Consolidated Companies (Greenville, Ohio)
  • Regional Industrial: Randy King, Rumpke Consolidated Companies (Louisville, Kentucky)
  • Regional Residential: Darrell Davis, Rumpke Consolidated Companies (Columbus, Ohio)
  • Small Company: Cesar Cevallos, Mr. T Carting Corporation (Glendale, New York)

EIA Hall of Fame

  • Ellen Harvey, E.L. Harvey & Sons, Inc. (Westborough, Massachusetts)
  • Gary Hater, Waste Management, Inc. (Cincinnati, Ohio)
  • Arthur Kazarian, Mottra Corporation (Irvine, Virginia)
  • Bill Wilkerson, Environmental Solutions Group (Columbus, Mississippi)
  • Don Williamson, West Central Sanitation (Willmar, Minnesota)

NSWMA Distinguished Service Award

  • Selin Hoboy, Stericycle, Inc. (Greenwood Village, Colorado)

NSWMA Member of the Year Award

  • Randall Essick, Waste Management, Inc. (Morrisville, North Carolina)

NSWMA Special Governors’ Award

  • Tom DeVivo, Willimantic Waste Paper Company (Willimantic, Connecticut)
  • Terry Guerin, Southside Landfill/Randolph Farms (Knightstown, Illinois)

WASTEC Distinguished Service Award

  • Ed Correale, PTR Baler and Compactor Company (Philadelphia)

WASTEC Employee of the Year

  • For Engineering: James Davis, J.V. Manufacturing, Inc. (Springdale, Arkansas)
  • For Engineering: Greg Staggs, J.V. Manufacturing, Inc. (Springdale, Arkansas)
  • For Production: Joe Fleming, Environmental Solutions Group (Vernon, Alabama)
  • For Sales and Marketing: Jay Martens, J.V. Manufacturing, Inc. (Springdale, Arkansas)
  • For Sales and Marketing: Bob McHugh, Environmental Solutions Group (Chattanooga, Tennessee)

WASTEC Member of the Year Award

  • Kirsti Nelson, Otto Environmental Systems N.A., Inc. (Charlotte, North Carolina)