Renew Subscription
Update Subscription 
Marketing Services


August 2007

Abitibi and Bowater announce executive team

Abitibi-Consolidated Inc. and Bowater Incorporated announced the proposed executive team to lead AbitibiBowater Inc., pending approval of the proposed combination and appointment by the board of AbitibiBowater.

As previously announced, John W. Weaver, currently president and chief executive officer of Abitibi-Consolidated, will be executive chairman of the new company, responsible for all corporate functions. David J. Paterson, currently chairman, president and chief executive officer of Bowater, will serve as president and chief executive officer of AbitibiBowater, with primary responsibility for operations and sales.

AbitibiBowater will be organized into four primary businesses: North American Newsprint, International, Commercial Printing and Coated Papers, and Wood Products. Each business will have bottom-line responsibility for all aspects of operations and sales.

In addition to Weaver and Paterson, AbitibiBowater’s executive team is expected to include the following nine executives:

  • Alain Grandmont, senior vice president, Commercial Printing and Coated Papers Business.
  • William G. Harvey, senior vice president and chief financial officer.
  • Yves Laflamme, senior vice president, Wood Products Business.
  • Jon Melkerson, senior vice president, Business and Corporate Development.
  • Pierre Rougeau, senior vice president, North American Newsprint Business.
  • W. Eric Streed, senior vice president, Supply Chain.
  • Thor Thorsteinson, senior vice president, International Business.
  • Jacques P. Vachon, senior vice president, Corporate Affairs and chief legal officer.
  • James T. Wright, senior vice president, Human Resources.

The executive team has been proposed by Abitibi-Consolidated and Bowater. The team’s appointment is subject to the approval of the board of AbitibiBowater.