Renew Subscription
Update Subscription


November 2007

FeMET awards scholastic grants

The American Iron and Steel Institute (AISI) and the Association for Iron & Steel Technology (AIST) Foundation’s “Ferrous Metallurgy Education Today,” or FeMET Initiative, which is aimed at attracting top scholastic talent to the North American steel industry, has awarded its curriculum development grants for the 2007–2008 school year. Seven university professors have been awarded $5,000 each to fund proposals designed to enhance or update industry curriculum in ferrous metallurgy programs.

The winning proposals for 2007-2008 were submitted by:

  • Dr. Siva Guruswamy, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Dr. Thomas E. Graedel and Dr. Robert B. Gordon, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

The renewed proposals for 2007-2008 were submitted by:

  • Dr. Thomas J. Balk, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky
  • Dr. Harvey Abramowitz, from Purdue University Calumet, West Lafayette, Indiana
  • Dr. Kip O. Findley, Washington State University, Pullman, Washington
  • Dr. John G. Speer, Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado