American Recycler News, Inc.


Novelis named Aluminum Fabricator of the Year

Novelis was named Aluminum Fabricator of the Year, one of the top prizes at the Metal Bulletin Global Awards for Aluminum Excellence held in Geneva. The company’s Yeongju, South Korea, recycling center was also honored as the Best Brownfield Technology Project winner.

Novelis was selected as Aluminum Fabricator of the Year for its transformation over the past two years, which has strengthened the company’s focus on sustainability, recycling, technology, innovation and growth. In late 2011, Novelis made a commitment to increase its recycled content from 33 percent to 80 percent by 2020. In less than 2 years, the company has reached 43 percent recycled content and is well on its way to achieving 80 percent by 2020. With recent recycling and rolling expansions totaling more than $1.7 billion, Novelis is poised to supply the growing demand for aluminum worldwide and has transformed itself into the global leader in delivering innovative, value-added aluminum products to its customers.

Novelis’ Yeongju Recycling Center, which opened in the fall of 2012, was named Best Brownfield Technology Project. As the largest aluminum beverage can recycling facility in Asia, the Yeongju Recycling Center represents a key element in the company’s recycling strategy. The project employs state-of-the-art recycling technology, including a decoater that increases the center’s ability to process scrap contaminated with plastic.

Novelis also was honored as a finalist in five additional categories, including environmental responsibility for its sustainability program; excellence in operational management for its AluNorf joint venture facility and best product innovation for its remote weldable alloy for the automotive market. Craig Lewis, director, operations controller for Novelis’ Oswego plant was honored as a Rising Star of the Year finalist and John Gardner, Novelis vice president and chief sustainability officer, was honored as a finalist for the Industry Ambassador of the Year.